Author Topic: LG 55LE5400 No Ethernet - Port Dead, Grayed out in Menu  (Read 216 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jason123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Hi Folks,
New to this form and I hope one of you can help me.  I have an LG TV that initially had a problem with USB ports, buzzing out of the speaker, flickering backlight when cold -  and so on.. I sent the board for professional reflow of the processors under heatsink and that fixed the USB issue and buzzing and flickering. TV works "Almost 100%" the HDMI port 1 is very touchy.

My big problem that I would appreciate some help on is the Ethernet.  This model comes Wifi ready, requires and adapter that didn't came with it.  But it has a LAN / Ethernet port.  However, in the menus (even after reset and firmware update to latest revision) is still grayed out.  No activity on the port when connected to a switch and I can't get it to "wake up"..

Any help is much appreciated.
Thank you

Mulja tv repair portal


cheeky2

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 153
Re: LG 55LE5400 No Ethernet - Port Dead, Grayed out in Menu
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2017,12:33:23 »
Presumably you purchased the correct usb wifi adapter otherwise you will get nothing! You cannot plug any pc usb wifi adapter into it and expect it to work. It will not.
 Check your ethernet cable making sure its not a crossover cable and it is fully functional in another device.
Read the user manual final thought

jason123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: LG 55LE5400 No Ethernet - Port Dead, Grayed out in Menu
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2017,03:35:24 »
Thank you.. I'm not using wireless adapter.  I'm plugging Ethernet cable directly into the Ethernet port.  I'm simply needing help troubleshooting the LAN / wired Ethernet port.

Mulja tv repair portal

Re: LG 55LE5400 No Ethernet - Port Dead, Grayed out in Menu
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2017,03:35:24 »

cheeky2

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 153
Re: LG 55LE5400 No Ethernet - Port Dead, Grayed out in Menu
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2017,04:49:54 »
Then clearly by the sounds of it your main board is still faulty if you have checked items suggested and read the manual. Suggest updating with the correct firmware for your model and or resetting the TV to factory settings. 

 

Powered by EzPortal